​​Global Arms Trade Treaty enters into force

The UN Arms Trade Treaty (ATT), regulating the international trade in conventional arms
The ATT is the first legally binding instrument to regulate global trade of conventional arms. It entered into force on 24 December 2014 and has currently 67 States Parties, of which 10 are in Africa (Burkina Faso, Chad, Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea, Liberia, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and South Africa). A total of 130 States, including 67 in Africa, have signed the Treaty

UNREC has been actively engaged in assisting African States in implementing the ATT and encourages all African States to sign and ratify the Treaty at the earliest opportunity.

To see the whole of the May edition of UNREC Focus, click here: UNREC Focus May 2015

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, World issues. Bookmark the permalink.